Fine Arts Program


[1] | 2

 

The Associate in Science degree in Art (AS) prepares students majoring in art, art education or graphic design to transfer to an university for a baccalaureate degree. The degree contains significantly more general education courses than an Associate of Applied Science degree allowing more courses to transfer to most universities. See our curriculum.

Art majors take a core curriculum in art, and take a few courses in a specialty area of choice, such as fine or studio art, graphic design, or computer art. Most art courses are held in Russell Hall on the Washington Street Campus. Graphic design and computer art courses may be taught in Parcells Hall.

Full-time art teachers, are Stephanie Jung, Steven Cost, Victoria Taylor-Gore, and Dennis Olson, all of whom are also professional fine artists in their own right.  Adjunct faculty also add to the talents and artistic perspectives in the art program.

The Fuse Art Club is very active and often brings in artists as speakers, workshop demonstrators or exhibitors. The club has also taken exciting out-of-town trips, such as Dallas, Denver, Sante Fe, Lubbock and Kansas City. Stephanie Jung is the club sponsor and advisor.

 

Purpose Statement:  To provide academic and studio instruction in visual arts.

CONTACT INFORMATION

 

Victoria Taylor-Gore
Department Chair, Assistant Professor - Art
Visual Arts, Design, and Humanities Department
E-mail: vtaylorgore@actx.edu
Office phone: (806) 371-5982
Cell phone: (806) 676-3659
Office: Parcells Hall 201
Washington St. Campus

Donna Salter
Administrative Assistant
Visual Arts, Design, and Humanities Department
E-mail: drsalter@actx.edu
Office phone: (806) 371-5273 and (806) 371-5290
Office: Parcells Hall 218
Washington St. Campus

Brenda Walsh
Advising Associate and Division Advisor for
Visual Arts, Design, and Humanities Department
E-mail: bjwalsh@actx.edu
Office phone: (806) 371-5212
Office: Parcells Hall 304
Washington St. Campus

James (Steven) Cost
Associate Professor - Art
E-mail: jscost@actx.edu
Office phone: (806) 345-5546
Office: Russell Hall 124C
Washington St. Campus

Stephanie A. Jung
Instructor - Art
E-mail: sajung@actx.edu
Office phone: (806) 371-5282
Office: Russell Hall 124B
Washington St. Campus

Dennis Olson
Assistant Professor - Art
Email: dkolson@actx.edu
Office phone: (806) 371-5083
Office: Russell Hall 124A
Washington St. Campus

James (Jimmy) Bahn
Part Time Instructor - Art
Email: jtbahn@actx.edu
Washington St. Campus

John Chaka
Part Time Instructor - Art
Email: jpchaka55@actx.edu
Washington St. Campus

 


 




                     
Next Page
[1] | 2

[Fine Arts Program]
Page 2