2014-2015 AC Suzuki Events List


Print

Check here for event updates and additions throughout the year.

Events listed in bold type are REQUIRED for all Suzuki students, so please make them a priority for your family.
 
The events that we schedule are essential components of a true Suzuki program, and participation by every student is vital to the success of the individual and group alike. Learning about commitment, consistency, and working together toward a common goal (even when you don’t want to!) will serve our children throughout their life's paths. Maybe we'll even learn the skill of enjoying the most routine parts of our days!
 
There are always instances where conflicts with other school activities and extra-curricular events occur, but please weigh all options before missing a scheduled Suzuki event. Contact Mrs. Nies at cdnies@actx.edu or Mrs. McDaniel at tljackson26@actx.edu with any issues as soon as they are known so arrangements may be made to accommodate a full or partial absence.

Suzuki Events 2014-2015 (5/29/2014)

 

August

Friday, Aug 1:  Every Child Can! registration due

Tuesday, Aug 12:  7:30-2 & 3:00-7:00 Student Registration

Wednesday, Aug. 20:  Amarillo College Faculty Day

Saturday, Aug 23:  9 AM - 4 PM Every Child Can! seminar for prospective parents and teachers

Week of Aug 25:  Private Lessons Begin

Wednesday, Aug 27:  Group Classes Begin

 

September

Saturday, Sept 13:  9:30 AM Play-in – Music Building & Concert Hall Theatre, Amarillo College Washington Street Campus
    Play-ins are family times and feature large group work with a teacher. Family and friends are welcome.

Saturday, Sept 13: 8PM Chamber Music Amarillo Group Performance: Advanced Viola Group

Saturday, Sept 20: 9 AM –  12 PM Amarillo College UIL All-Region Help String Clinic , 9-10:30 Middle School, 10:30-12 High School (all area Middle and High School string players are invited)

Tuesday, Sept 23: 7 PM Solo Recital #1 - Oak Acorn Room, CUB, Amarillo College Washington Street Campus

 

October

Saturday, Oct 4:  9:30 AM Play-in – Music Building & Concert Hall Theatre, Amarillo College Washington Street Campus

October 4&5: Amarillo Opera Fall Production

Saturday October 11:  8PM Chamber Music Amarillo Group Performance:Advanced Cello Group

Saturday, Oct 18:  Middle School UIL Region Auditions

Thursday, Oct 23:  High School UIL Region Auditions

Saturday, Oct 25:  All-State UIL Taping **unconfirmed**

Tuesday, Oct 28: 7 PM Solo Recital #2 - Oak Acorn Room, CUB, Amarillo College Washington Street Campus
   Held throughout the year, solo recitals provide a dignified setting for students to perform individually. Family, friends, and the general public are invited.

 

November

Saturday, Nov. 8:  AM Barnes & Noble Fundraiser Play-in

Sunday, Nov. 23:  3 PM Orchestra/Ensembles Concert

Tuesday, Nov. 25:  7 PM Solo Recital #3 - Oak Acorn Room, CUB, Amarillo College Washington Street Campus

Wednesday, Nov 26:  No Group (Thanksgiving)

 

December

Dec. 5 & 6:  Middle and High School Region Clinic & Concert

Week of Dec. 1:  Last Week of Private/Group Lessons

Dec 3:  Last Group Lessons for Fall

Week of Dec 8:  Lesson Make-up Week

 

January

Mon/Tues, Jan 5&6 10:30-2 & 3-5:30:  Student Registration

Saturday, Jan 10:  9:30 AM Play-in – TBA

Week of Jan 12:  Private and Group Lessons Begin

Saturday, Jan 17: 8PM Chamber Music Amarillo Group Performance:Small Ensemble TBA

Saturday, Jan 24:  UIL Solo & Ensemble

Tuesday, Jan 27:  7 PM Solo Recital #4, Oak Acorn Room, CUB, Amarillo College Washington Street Campus

 

February

Tuesday, Feb 24:  7 PM Solo Recital #5, Oak Acorn Room, CUB, Amarillo College Washington Street Campus

Feb 27-Mar 1:  SUZUKI ALL-STAR WEEKEND

  Friday, Feb 27: 6-8 PM Workshop Play-ins & Pizza Party

  Saturday, Feb 28:  Workshop (required of all students)

  Saturday, Feb 28:(as part of the workshop) 8PM Chamber Music Amarillo Group Performance: Advanced Violin Group

 

March

Sunday, Mar 1:  3 PM Annual Group Recital – TBA
  This yearly event features all students performing pieces selected by the faculty. The Annual Recital is an exciting time for students to collaborate and show off the year's hard work after a weekend of working with guest clinicians.

Saturday, Mar 14: 8PM Chamber Music Amarillo Group Performance:Small Ensemble TBA

Wednesday, March 18:  NO Group (Spring Break)

Week of Mar 25-31:  Student Practice-a-thon

Tuesday, Mar 31:  7 PM Solo Recital #6, Oak Acorn Room, CUB, Amarillo College Washington Street Campus

 

April

April 1:  Summer Scholarship App Deadline

April 4&5: Amarillo Opera Spring Production

Wednesday, Apr 22:  Last Wednesday Group Lessons

Saturday, Apr 25:  9:30 AM Play-in – TBA

Sunday, Apr 26:  3:00 PM Orchestras & Ensembles Concert – TBA

   The general public is encouraged to attend.

Tuesday, Apr 28:  7 PM Solo Recital #7, Oak Acorn Room, CUB, Amarillo College Washington Street Campus

Week of April 27:  Last Week of Private Lessons

 

May

Thursday, May TBA Suzuki Orchestra competes at GSWMF

Week of May 4:  Lesson Make-up Week




Events

Aug 1

Every Child Can! Registration Due

All day event - August 1

Aug 12

Student Registration - Morning

07:30 AM - 02:00 PM, August 12, 2014

Aug 12

Student Registration - Morning Afternoon

03:00 PM - 06:30 PM, August 12, 2014

Aug 20

Amarillo College Faculty Day

All day event - August 20

Aug 23

Every Child Can!

09:00 AM - 04:00 PM, August 23, 2014

All Events

Support The Amarillo College Suzuki Program

"Perhaps it is music that will save the world."

- the great cellist, Pablo Casals, upon hearing a group of Suzuki students perform.