Amarillo College Moore County Campus Advisory Committee Minutes October 12, 2010

## MCC Advisory Committee Members Present

Larry Appel Danielle Arias Melissa bates Sam Cartwright Brenda Elzner Gene Legg Ineze Jenkins Alexa Maples Chris Rivera Mike Running **Billie Faye Schumacher** Mark Stroebel Carla Tafoya Renee Vincent Glen Waldo Bart Woodman

## **Guest Present**

Lorie Shafer Rachel Gillespie Dina Montana Kristen Johnson Geneva Saenz Danita McAnally

Larry Appel opened the meeting by welcoming the MCC Advisory Committee along with guest that was present.

A motion to approve the minutes was made by Judge Billie Faye Schumacher with a second by Gene Legg. The minutes were approved as read.

Renee Vincent thanked Mr. Larry Appel for all his work and dedication that he has done for the campus and Dumas ISD and presented Carla Tafoya with a 10 year plaque for serving on the Advisory Committee. Renee handed the Committee members a fact sheet of what has gone on since the last meeting in May. Please see attachment.

Renee introduced Danita McAnally, Dean of Assessment and Development, to speak to the Committee about the new Strategic Plan for the next five years for Moore County Campus. Danita handed out a flow chart and timeline to each Committee member to show how the process would work. Please see attachment. Danita also handed out a Strategic Plan Survey Questionnaire for each member to complete. Once all the surveys were complete each member was divided into subcommittees.

Subcommittees are as follows:

1. Workforce and Economic Development- Chair: Sam Cartwright, CEO Dumas/ Moore County Chamber

Members:

- Mike Running
- Sam Aldrich
- Gene Legg
- Bart Woodman
- Danielle Arias
- Kristen Johnson
- 2. Student Success- Chair: Mark Stroebel, Assistant Superintendent, Dumas ISD

Members:

- Diana Diaz
- Carla Tafoya
- Chris Rivera
- Cheryl Clark
- Alexa Maples
- Rachel Gillespie
- 3. Facility Development- Chair: Larry Appel, Superintendent of Schools, Dumas ISD and Chair of AC-MCC Advisory Committee

Members:

- James Allen
- Cleo Castro
- John Diedrichsen
- Renee Vincent
- Dina Montana
- 4. New Programs and Services- Chari: Jeff turner, CEO Moore County Hospital District; Co-Chair: Geneva Saenz Ac-MCC Student Services and Outreach Representative

Members

- Brenda Elzner
- Mysti Truitt

- Judge Billie Faye Schumacher
- Vince Dipiazza
- Glen Waldon
- Dr. Russell Lowery-Hart

After the 30 minute break out sessions the group reformed and discussed what could be developed out of their sessions. Please see attachments.

It was decide by the Committee that the next meeting will be November 4<sup>th</sup> and during this time the Committee's will meet and get input from community members about what they would like to see happen here at Moore County Campus.

Meeting adjourned at 1:45.