Volume 74 Page 67

# Minutes of the Amarillo College Board of Regents Special Meeting of December 17, 2024

# AMARILLO COLLEGE BOARD OF REGENTS MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING December 17, 2024

# REGENTS PRESENT

Mr. Jay Barrett, Chair

Mr. John Betancourt, Vice-Chair

Mrs. Anette Carlisle

Ms. Michele Fortunato

Ms. Irene Hughes

Mr. Johnny Mize

Dr. Paul Proffer

Ms. Peggy Thomas

Dr. David Woodburn

# **REGENTS ABSENT**

# **CAMPUS REPRESENTATIVES PRESENT**

Mr. Jeff Turner, Representative for the Moore County Campus

# CAMPUS REPRESENTATIVES ABSENT

Ms. Sara Pesina, Representative for the Hereford Hinkson Memorial Campus

# **CABINET MEMBERS PRESENT**

Ms. Denese Skinner, Interim President

Mr. Mark White, Executive General Counsel

# CABINET MEMBERS ABSENT

Mr. Bob Austin, Vice President of Enrollment Management

Mr. Kevin Ball, Vice President of Communications and Marketing

Mr. Chris Sharp, Vice President of Business Affairs

Mr. Joe Bill Sherrod, Vice President of Institutional Advancement

Dr. Frank Sobey, Vice President of Academic Affairs

#### OTHERS PRESENT:

Ms. Jessica Arce, Administrative Assistant

Ms. Kim Bruce, Communications Coordinator

Mr. Michael Cuviello, Amarillo Globe News

Mr. Steve Douglas, KVII TV

Ms. Ally Greenwood, Executive Assistant & Asst. Secretary to the Board

Mr. Aaron Huddleston, AC Chief of Police

Mr. Christian Johnson, KMR Local 4 news

Mr. Christopher Key, Marketing Special Products Coordinator

Ms. Briana Maestas, Amarillo Tribune

Ms. Sadie, Newsome, Director of Media

Mr. Jay Sawyer, AC Faculty

Ms. Phoebe Terry. Amarillo Tribune

Mr. Joe Wyatt, Content Producer Communications

Volume 74

<u>Minutes of the Amarillo College Board of Regents Special Meeting of December</u>
17, 2024

# **SPECIAL MEETING**

The Special Meeting was called to order at 5:31 pm by Mr. Jay Barrett, Chair of the Board of Regents. He welcomed those in attendance. A quorum was present.

# **CLOSED MEETING**

At 5:32 p.m., Mr. Barrett called for a closed session to deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, and duties of the college president pursuant to Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code. The open session reconvened at 7:22 p.m. and a quorum was still present.

# SELECTION OF COLLEGE PRESIDENT

Ms. Thomas moved that the Board of Regents select Dr. Frank Sobey for President. Ms. Hughes seconded the motion and called for a rollcall vote. Mr. Barrett, Mr. Betancourt, Mrs. Carlisle, Ms. Fortunato, Mr. Mize, Dr. Proffer, and Dr. Woodburn, voted against the motion, so it failed.

Mr. Mize moved that the Board of Regents select Dr. Jamelle Conner as the President of Amarillo College and that staff begin contract negotiations. The motion was seconded by Mr. Woodburn. The motion passed with affirmative votes from Mr. Barrett, Mr. Betancourt, Mrs. Carlisle, Ms. Fortunato, Dr. Proffer, and Dr. Woodburn, while Ms. Hughes and Ms. Thomas voted against. The motion passed.

Mr. Barrett reiterated the directive for staff to proceed with negotiations and thanked the Board for their efforts in selecting a new president. Ms. Carlisle moved to adjourn the meeting; the motion was seconded by Ms. Hughes. The meeting adjourned at 7:30pm.

Sara Pesina, S	Secretary