Volume 66

AMARILLO COLLEGE BOARD OF REGENTS MINUTES OF SPECIAL BOARD MEETING May 16, 2017

REGENTS PRESENT: Ms. Michele Fortunato, Chair; Mr. Dan Henke, Secretary; Mr. Jay Barrett; Ms. Anette Carlisle,

REGENTS ABSENT: Dr. Paul Proffer, Vice-Chair, Mr. Johnny Mize; Mr. Patrick Miller; Dr. Neal Nossaman; Dr. David Woodburn

CAMPUS REPRESENTATIVES PRESENT: None

CAMPUS REPRESENTATIVES ABSENT: Mr. Michael Kitten, Representative for the Hereford Campus; Mr. Mike Running, Representative for the Moore County Campus

OTHERS PRESENT: Ms. Cara Crowley, Chief of Staff; Ms. Lyndy Forrester, Vice President of Employee and Organizational Development; Mr. Steve Smith, Vice President of Business Affairs; and Mr. Mark White, Executive Vice President and General Counsel

Ms. Joy Brenneman – Exec. Asst., Pres's Off. and Asst. Secy. to the Board of Regents Ms. Sally Jennings – Newly elected Regent

The Special Meeting was called to order at 9:34 a.m. by Ms. Michele Fortunato, Chairman of the Board of Regents. It was announced that a quorum was present pursuant to Election Code Sec. 67.004.

CANVASSING OF THE MAY 6, 2017 GENERAL ELECTION RETURNS ACCEPTED

A tabulation of the votes cast at the precinct locations for the May 6, 2017 election of three regents to serve six-year terms along with the cumulative report were provided to the Regents for their review.

Ms. Carlisle moved, seconded by Mr. Henke, to accept the election returns. The motion carried unanimously.

GENERAL ELECTION RESULTS CERTIFIED

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS on this 16th day of May 2017, the Board of Regents of the Amarillo Junior College District convened for the purpose of canvassing the returns of the general election of the Board of Regents held May 6, 2017, for the purpose of electing three members to the Board of Regents of the Amarillo Junior College District to serve six-year terms.

WHEREAS the election returns were canvassed at the direction of the Chair of the Board of Regents, and it was found that the following candidates received the total number of votes as listed below.

SIX-YEAR TERM	TOTAL VOTES
Barrett, Jay	7,521
Jennings, Sally Lampe	6,686
Fortunato, Michele	6,386
Zambrano, Ignacio Alfonso	4,247
South, Daniel F.	4,028

Volume 66 Minutes of the Amarillo College Board of Regents Special Meeting of May 16, 2016

Warren, III, Clarence Thomas	
Martinez, Paul Daniel	
Dunn, Sandra Faye	
Nicholson, Donald Lee	

3,907 3,432 2,563 1,880

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the following persons, to wit:

Jay Barrett 6402 Tarrington Amarillo, TX 79109

Michele Fortunato 1710 S. Harrison Street Amarillo, TX 79102

Sally Jennings 4503 Greenwich Place Amarillo, TX 79119

having met all qualifications and receiving the greatest number of votes in the said regents' election, are elected to the Board of Regents of the Amarillo Junior College District and will, therefore, after taking the oath of office, serve on the Board of Regents of the Amarillo Junior College District for a six-year term beginning May 2017, and ending May 2023.

Ms. Carlisle moved, seconded by Mr. Henke, to accept the certification of election results and adopt the resolution certifying the results. The motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Ms. Carlisle moved, seconded by Mr. Henke, that the meeting be adjourned. The meeting adjourned at 9:36 a.m.

Daniel E. Henke, Secretary