AMARILLO COLLEGE BOARD OF REGENTS MINUTES OF SPECIAL BOARD MEETING May 20, 2008

REGENTS PRESENT: Ms. Lilia B. Escajeda, Chair; Mr. Carroll M. Forrester, Vice Chair; Ms. Michele Fortunato; Mr. John D. Hicks; and Mrs. Sharon Oeschger;

REGENTS ABSENT: Mr. H. Bryan Poff, Secretary; Mr. Frank O. Nelson; Mr. Prenis O. Williams; and Dr. David C. Woodburn

OTHERS PRESENT: Mr. Terry Berg, Dean of Finance & Administrative Services; Mrs. Brenda Sadler, Exec. Asst., Pres's Off. and Asst. Secy. to the Board of Regents; and Mr. Don Nicholson, Newly Elected Regent

The meeting was called to order by Ms. Escajeda, Chairman.

CANVASSING OF THE MAY 10, 2008 REGENT ELECTION RETURNS ACCEPTED:

A tabulation of the votes cast at the precinct locations for the May 10, 2008 election of three regents to serve six-year terms and one regent to serve an unexpired four-year term is attached at pages 198 through 202.

Ms. Fortunato moved, seconded by Mr. Forrester, to accept the election returns. The motion carried unanimously.

CERTIFICATION OF ELECTION RESULTS ACCEPTED AND RESOLUTION ADOPTED:

A resolution certifying the results of the May 10, 2008 election of three regents to serve sixyear terms and one regent to serve an unexpired four-year term on the Amarillo College Board of Regents follows:

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS on this 20th day of May 2008, the Board of Regents of the Amarillo Junior College District convened for the purpose of canvassing the returns of the election of the Board of Regents held May 10, 2008, for the purpose of electing three members to the Board of Regents of the Amarillo Junior College District to serve six-year terms, and one regent to the Board of Regents of the Amarillo Junior College District to serve an unexpired four-term term.

WHEREAS the election returns were canvassed at the direction of the Chair of the Board of Regents, and it was found that the following candidates received the total number of votes as listed below.

SIX-YEAR TERM	TOTAL VOTES
Don Nicholson	7,854
Prenis Williams	9,138
Dr. Gene Norman	8,456
Fred Amerson	4,750

CERTIFICATION OF ELECTION RESULTS ACCEPTED AND RESOLUTION ADOPTED Continued:

Frank Nelson Samuel Brown Silverman	4,886 2,458
FOUR-YEAR UNEXPIRED TERM	
Lilia Escajeda	6,076

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the following persons, to wit:

Prenis Williams
1324 NW 12 th Avenue
Amarillo, TX 79107

Dr. Gene Norman 2228 Locust Amarillo, TX 79109

Don Nicholson 3614 South Hughes Amarillo, TX 79110

Lilia Escajeda 3104 South Pittsburg Amarillo, TX 79103

having met all qualifications and receiving the greatest number of votes in the said regents election, are elected to the Board of Regents of the Amarillo Junior College District and will, therefore, serve on the Board of Regents of the Amarillo Junior College District for a six-year term beginning May 2008, and ending May 2014 or a four-year unexpired term beginning May 2012.

Mrs. Oeschger moved, seconded by Ms. Fortunato, to accept the certification of election results and adopt the resolution certifying the results. The motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Lilia B. Escajeda, Chairman