Volume 57 Page 261

AMARILLO COLLEGE BOARD OF REGENTS MINUTES OF SPECIAL BOARD MEETING August 15, 2008

REGENTS PRESENT: Ms. Michele Fortunato, Chair; Mr. Prenis O. Williams, Vice Chair; Ms. Lilia B. Escajeda; Mr. Carroll M. Forrester; Mr. Don L. Nicholson; Dr. Gene Norman; and Mr. H. Bryan Poff

REGENTS ABSENT: Mr. John D. Hicks, Secretary; and Dr. David C. Woodburn

OTHERS PRESENT: Mr. Robert Austin, Dean of Enrollment Management; Mrs. Ellen Green, Dean of College Communications and Marketing; Dr. Paul Matney, Acting President/Vice President and Dean of Instruction; and Ms. Danita McAnally, Dean, Assessment and Development

Mr. Mike Jager, representing Classified Employees Council
Mrs. Lori Merriman, Executive Secretary, President's Office
Mr. Brad Newman, representing *Amarillo Globe News*Mrs. Theresa Rider, General Accounting & Budget Manager, Business Office
Mrs. Brenda Sadler, Exec. Asst., Pres's Off. and Asst. Secy. to the Board of Regents

The meeting was called to order by Ms. Fortunato, Chairman.

PUBLIC HEARING ON THE PROPOSED TAX RATE FOR 2008:

In accordance with provisions of Section 26.05 of the Texas Property Tax Code, a notice of public hearings regarding the proposed tax rate for 2008 was published in the newspaper on August 8, 2008.

At this time any person and/or persons wishing to come before the Board of Regents regarding the proposed tax rate for 2008 for the Amarillo Junior College District were given the opportunity to be heard. There was no public opposition to the proposed tax rate.

THE DATE, TIME, AND PLACE OF THE SECOND HEARING AND THE MEETING TO ADOPT THE TAX RATE ANNOUNCED:

Ms. Fortunato announced that the second public hearing on the proposed tax rate is set for August 18, 2008 at 12:00 noon in the Palo Duro Room on the Washington Street Campus and the date to adopt the 2008 tax rate is set for August 26, 2008 at 6:00 p.m., in the Palo Duro Room on the Washington Street Campus.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

| adjourned. | |
|------------|--------------------------|
| | Michele Fortunato, Chair |
| | |