# **Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes**

May 4, 2007

**Call to Order:** Gay Mills, President, called the meeting to order at 3 p.m.

Senators Present: Gay Mills, Scott Beckett, Margie Waguespack, Larry Adams, Dan Porter for Mindy Adams, Steve Beckham, Mike Bellah, Nancy Brent, Claudie Biggers, Jnita Collins, Ann Hamblin, Judy Isbell, Judy Jackman, Lana Jackson, Marianne Jones, Aimee Martin, Bob Mathews, Bill Netherton, Sheree Talkington, Steve Weber, Karen McIntosh for Lil Withrow, Henry Wyckoff

**Senators Absent**: Karla Dixon, D'dee Grove, Michael Kopenits, Jan Martin

**Visitors**: Carroll M. Forrester

**Approval of Minutes**: Minutes of March 30 were approved as submitted.

Guests: Elizabeth Bauman

**SGA Report**: Elizabeth Bauman updated the Senate on SGA activities and reported on SGA elections. Perry Flores, the new SGA President, introduced himself to the Senate.

A discussion ensued about the need for another representative from the Industrial and Transportation Technologies Division for the next year, and a special vote followed, allowed by Senate Bylaws. Steve Beckett moved that Henry Wyckoff serve an additional year. Sheree Talkington seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

#### **President's Report:**

Gay Mills welcomed all new senators and thanked the Senate for their support during her tenure as president. She reminded senators about the reception for Kathy Wetzel, Piper Professor, on Wednesday, May 9. Gay then shared Dr. Paul Matney's letter in which he addressed the recent Faculty Senate Survey, saying he felt encouraged by the faculty participation and looked forward to working with faculty to address concerns expressed in the survey. Gay reminded senators to tell their part-time colleagues about the Part-time Certification Program available to them.

## **Committee Reports:**

Professor Emeritus Committee: Scott thanked the committee for helping with the reception for Judy Hathcock.

Technology Committee: Larry Adams commented on the updates that needed to be made to the Faculty Senate Web page.

Mead Award Committee: Judy Isbell reported that a faculty member had been selected for the Mead Award and that the Committee was investigating ways to ensure more substantive online nominations from students.

Election of Senators: Did Mike Bellah request that the ballots be destroyed?

**Courtesy Committee:** 

Questions Committee: No report

Faculty Development Committee:

### **Old Business:**

<u>Bus/Vehicle Purchase</u>: Bob Mathews reported on some vehicle options and prices to consider in order to provide AC faculty and students with adequate transportation to various events.

<u>Ideas to Highlight Faculty Achievements</u>: Gay Mills reported that AC's Dept. Chairs had instigated a new method of recognizing faculty achievements—"NOTEables," or official notes to faculty as well as recognition on the myAC page.

#### **New Business:**

The Senate elected new officers for the 2007-2008 year. Lana Jackson was elected vice-president, Steve Weber was elected secretary, and Scott Beckett, as outgoing vice-president, will be president.

Adjournment: 4:45 pm