AC to recognize its outstanding scholars at 2017 Honors Convocation

by Joe Wyatt
Published April 18, 2017

The public is invited to the Amarillo College 2017 Honors Convocation at 2 p.m. Sunday, April 23 in the Amarillo Civic Center Auditorium, where the academic achievements of approximately 600 students will be celebrated.

Coleman Carter, an alumnus of both AC and Harvard University, will serve as guest speaker.

Students will be recognized in the following categories:

  • Academic Excellence
  • Alpha Beta Gamma International Business Honor Society
  • Lambda Epsilon Chi National Paralegal Honor Society
  • Mu Alpha Theta National Mathematics Honor Society
  • Outstanding Majors
  • Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society
  • Presidential Scholar Honors Program
  • Regents Excellence & Regents Achievement Scholarships
  • Sigma Kappa Delta English Honor Society
  • *Special Awards
  • Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges

*Those receiving Special Awards include:

  • Christopher Macon – All-USA Academic Team Award
  • Lexie Reyes – All-USA Academic Team Award
  • David Chaparro – Artle J. Lynn Engineering Award
  • Angela Thongngoen – Hinkson Memorial Campus Outstanding Student Award
  • Sentora Rodriguez – Jerome McDonough Mass Communication Award
  • Courtney Haney – Lucille King Lynn English Award
  • Diana Marquez – Moore County Campus Outstanding Student Award

A reception will immediately follow the ceremony, and light refreshments will be served.