Joe Wyatt
Published June 8, 2017

Amarillo College is honoring two individuals responsible for creating hundreds of hours of high-quality, locally produced television and guiding AC students in the Matney Mass Media Program.

Dale on the webAC’s Matney Mass Media Program will add Dale Robinson and Buddy Squyres to the prestigious Mass Media Wall of Fame during a ceremony at 2 p.m. Thursday, June 29 in the Panhandle PBS Studio at AC.

The two worked side-by-side for decades as production coordinators for KACV-TV (now called Panhandle PBS), where they created award-winning documentaries, television series, special projects and live television events. Robinson, who died in 2013, and Squyres also shared their expertise with countless AC students both in the television studios and classrooms.

“Both were instrumental in the creation of many of the highest quality programs and series ever produced in the Texas Panhandle, and both served as teachers and mentors for AC students,” said Jill Gibson, coordinator of the Matney Mass Media Program and associate dean of the School of Creative Arts. “It is only fitting that we honor them together since they worked together on so many exceptional projects during their careers.”

Squyres will be on hand to accept the award. Robinson’s wife, Marcie Cleland Robinson, a speech instructor at AC, will accept the award for her late husband.

Buddy on wallThe Wall of Fame honors former students who have been successful in the media and others who have made significant contributions to the Matney Mass Media Program and the local media industry.

The pair will join 15 other honorees who have been recognized in the past and have their portraits and biographical information displayed on the wall outside the AC student media newsroom in Parcells Hall.

Squyres joined KACV in 1989 after beginning his broadcasting career at KVII-TV. In addition to his work at the PBS affiliate, he also worked as a lab instructor for the Matney Mass Media Program and helped prepare many AC graduates for successful careers.

Robinson also helped guide AC students – instructing them as they received “real world” practice with production skills during pledge events and live broadcasts. In addition to videography and editing, Robinson’s work at the station included production design, graphics, lighting, set building, computer animation and web design.

The Wall of Fame ceremony will follow the annual Matney Mass Media Program Advisory Board meeting, during which industry professionals will provide College faculty with insight on changes in the mass media fields and feedback on curriculum. Guidance from industry professionals ensures that the program provides relevant and up-to-date training that prepares AC graduates to succeed in a wide variety of media careers.

Following are the Wall of Fame honorees to date (in order of inclusion):

Beth Duke, former city editor of the Amarillo Globe-News, executive director of Center City, and 2010 winner of AC’s Distinguished Alumni Award;

Kari Fluegel, who worked in media relations for NASA;

Ben Sargent, a Pulitzer-winning cartoonist and AC’s Distinguished Alumnus in 1993;

Mike Stravato, a freelance photographer for the Associated Press;

Thomas Thompson, former editor in charge of Pulitzer-winning coverage at the Amarillo Globe-Times;

Jason Boyett, author of several books and an award-winning advertising copywriter and designer;

Nancy Crowley, the late, longtime journalism teacher at AC, Amarillo High and Tascosa High;

Walt Howard, longtime news anchor for KFDA-TV, Channel 10;

Brad Loper, a Pulitzer Prize-winning photographer for The Dallas Morning News;

Jamey Neill, also known as Jamey Karr on the air, former program director at KACV-FM and currently general manager of The Eagle;

Robert Wylie, posthumously, a Piper Professor who taught journalism and English at AC for three decades;

Don Ford, a longtime director of engineering for AC’s radio station, an entity he helped establish in 1976, and for AC’s PBS television station—now called Panhandle PBS;

David Coons, an AC alum and a broadcast engineer for AC’s radio-TV academic department for 35 years;

Jerry Webb, director of AC student publications from 1972-1978, president of the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association in 1976 and longtime radio sports announcer; and

Dusty Green, an AC alum and former KVII news anchor and news director who went on to create, produce and host a video travel series syndicated nationally on PBS affiliate stations, including Panhandle PBS.

For more information contact: Jill Gibson, Matney Mass Media program coordinator, at or 806-433-1001.