Joe Wyatt
Published October 4, 2017

Amarillo College has nominated two of its exceptional educators for prestigious Minnie Stevens Piper Professorships – Dr. Robert Bauman, professor of biology, and Edie Carter, dean of academic success.

RobertBaumanEach year, the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation selects 10 Piper Professors from nominations received from two- and four-year colleges and universities throughout Texas.

The 2018 honorees will be announced next spring. Selections are based on dedication to the teaching profession and for outstanding academic, scientific and scholarly achievement.

Each of the 10 educators who are named 2018 Piper Professors will receive certificates of merit, gold pins, and $5,000 honorariums.

Both AC nominees are past winners of the College’s foremost faculty award, the John F. Mead Award, given to Bauman in 2004 and Carter in 2014.

Bauman is past chair of the Department of Biological Sciences at AC. He has taught microbiology, human anatomy and physiology, and botany. He also is the author of three textbooks, including Microbiology, now in its fifth edition and the required text for AC microbiology students.

Bauman has held national offices in the American Society of Microbiology and is a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Human Anatomy and Physiology Society; and The Lepidopterists’ Society.

EdieCarterCarter, longtime coordinator of AC’s award-winning Developmental Math Program, was named dean of academic success earlier in 2017. In April, Carter was named a recipient of the Faculty Innovation Award, which is presented annually by the American Association of Community Colleges.

Carter is the author or co-author of many published papers and professional presentations including such titles as “Motivating Those Who Claim to be ‘Mathematically Challenged,’” and “Success through Collaborative Efforts at Amarillo College.”

Seven Amarillo College faculty members have been named Piper Professors since 1958, three of them since 2001.