Joe Wyatt
Published May 7, 2018

Amarillo College this month will present 33 local high school students with Level I Machining or Automotive Certificates, credentials earned through AC’s Technical Dual Credit Program and made possible by a grant from the Trellis Foundation.

Success Is AC NewsEach of these successful students will be recognized during their respective awards ceremonies – at Amarillo Area Center for Advanced Learning (AACAL), Caprock High School and Palo Duro High School.


This particular certificate program is sponsored by AC, the Trellis Foundation, Amarillo Independent School District and the Amarillo Area Foundation. It is inspired by 60x30TX, an ambitious 15-year initiative spearheaded by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board to boost post-secondary credentials in the state at least 60 percent by 2030.


The College will be represented at these events by several individuals, including Michael Kitten, dean of technical education, and Becky Burton, dean of academic outreach and support services.


As part of the program, each graduate also will receive a toolkit. Additionally, those who qualified will be inducted into the National Technical Honor Society.


The awards ceremonies and the students who will receive certificates of completion are as follows:


AACAL – Basic Automotive Certificates

Tuesday, May 8 at 6:30 p.m.

Ines Alvarez

Marcus Anthony

Christopher Arriazola

Rene Ceballos

Moises Chavez

Ezikedis Davis

Justin Davis

Loyd Drenon

Brandon Johnson

Mason Khashan

Christian Le

Nicholas Pearson

Jorge Rivero

Savina Rojas

Victor Saldierna

Angel Vargas

Richard Luna

Clifton Silivent


Palo Duro – Basic Machining Certificates (welding emphasis)

Tuesday, May 15 at 6 p.m.

Jose Alvarez Jr.

Jose Castaneda

Johnny Corral

Tranarri Haskins

Emmanuel Lujan

Emanuel Martinez

Jorge Montoya-Sanchez

Hugo Pereda

Esbeyda Ruiz

Kristopher Vallejo

Ryan Velasquez


Caprock – Basic Machining Certificates

Thursday, May 17 at 6 p.m.

Esiah Alvarado

Andrew Cruz

Christopher Mascorro

Alberto  Ordunez