Joe Wyatt
Published April 3, 2017

Amarillo College mass media students won 18 awards, including one for Overall Excellence, at the annual convention of the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) April 1 in Dallas.

The awards included four first-place certificates as well as first place in Overall Excellence in Division Four Newspaper.

"During my time at AC, we have put so much effort in to making the newspaper the best as it can be and being awarded first prize for overall excellence is an amazing way to be recognized for our hard work,” said Jenna Gibson, The Ranger content and design manager. “To be at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention among so many talented college and university journalists and receive that award was such a rewarding experience."

“The students have worked incredibly hard this year to rebrand The Ranger and really focus on its redesign,” said Maddisun Fowler, student media coordinator. “They have come up with some fantastic ideas and I’m just so proud of this award, it really shows that their hard work hasn’t gone unnoticed.”

Other AC awards for material published during 2016 included:

Alma Bustamante, first place, Newspaper News Photo; Raz Rasmussen, first place, Newspaper Headline; Christie Rankin, first place, Newspaper Photo Illustration; Jenna Gibson, first and second place, Newspaper Page One Design; Gene Sockwell, second place, Newspaper Feature Photo; Salvador Gutierrez, third place, Television News Non-Feature; and Maggie Tinoco, third place, Radio Spot News.

Honorable mention for 2016 work went to: General Magazine Story Package, Denisha Kranthoven and Destiny Kranthoven; General Magazine Overall Excellence, AC Current; General Magazine Illustration, Austin Ulen; Newspaper Feature Page Design, Denisha Kranthoven; Newspaper Critical Review, Joseph Hansen; Newspaper News Feature Story, Raz Rasmussen; and Newspaper Picture Story, Claire Ekas.

Attending the TIPA convention were Student Media staff members Jenna Gibson, Libby Gibson, Macey Gibaszek, Liz Moore, Salvador Gutierrez, Salvador Casanova and Sir Garen Grayson along with advisors Jill Gibson, Maddisun Fowler and Brian Frank.