New Mexico Reciprocity Agreement

Coordinating Board Rules, Chapter 21, Subchapter B, Section 21.26(b)(6)(b)(iii): Students from counties or parishes of New Mexico, Oklahoma, Arkansas or Louisianna adjacent to Texas may pay a lowered nonresident tuition when they attend any public institution in Texas, if the institution has a current reciprocal agreement with a similar institution in the student’s home state.

Amarillo College has a reciprocal agreement with Eastern New Mexico University. Students whose residency is based on themselves or a parent/legal guardian who lives in one of the following New Mexico bordering counties will be eligible for a waiver of out of state tuition (must be renewed each semster):

  • Union
  • Quay
  • Curry
  • Roosevelt
  • Lea
  • Eddy
  • Otero
  • Dona Ana

In order to maintain your eligibility for this waiver, simply refile this form with AskAC every semester and make sure that you meet Amarillo College’s policy for Satisfactory Academic Progress.  Please visit the following AC Webpage to learn more about Satisfactory Academic Progress: Complete the Tuition Waiver Program for New Mexico Residents and return it to AskAC prior to the census date of the enrolled term.

Amarillo College
Att: AskAC
P.O. Box 447 
Amarillo, TX 79178

Fax: 806-371-5066