2019 - 2020

Membership and committee lists from the 2019-2020 Academic Year.



Karen White, Associate Professor - Developmental Math (2019-20)


Amanda Lester-Chisum, Assistant Professor - Dental Hygiene (2020-21)

Vice-President / President-Elect

Dr. Nathaniel Fryml, Assistant Professor - Music (2019-20)


Sarah Uselding, Assistant Professor - Criminal Justice (2019-20)



Other Members


Donald Abel, Assistant Professor - Mass Media (2021-22)

Dr. Kati Alley, Assistant Professor - Associate Degree Nursing (2020-21)

Simone Buys, Instructor - Occupational Therapy (2021-22)

Brant Davis, Instructor - Mortuary Science (2021-22)

Fiona Denge, Assistant Professor - Physical Sciences/Biology (2021-22)

Bernardino (JR.) Gonzales, Instructor - Physical Sciences/Biology (2021-22)

Tammy Holmes, Instructor - Mathematics (2019-20)

Robert Johnson, Instructor - Industrial Technology (2019-20)

Robin Malone, Associate Professor - Legal Studies (2020-21)

Dr. Bill Netherton, Professor - English (2020-21)

Camille Nies, Associate Professor - Music (2021-22)

Kim Pinter, Assistant Professor - Associate Degree Nursing (2019-20)

Dr. Dave Van Domelen, Assistant Professor - Physical Sciences (2020-21)

Walter Webb, Instructor - Industrial Technology (2020-21)


Committee Assignments


*Committees listed with an asterisk are Amarillo College Committees requiring one Faculty Senate representative. To view the full committee membership:

All other committees are internal Faculty Senate committees.

SenatorCommittee (suggested numbers of members)Purpose

Bill Netherton, Chair
Fiona Denge
Camille Nies

Courtesy Committee (3-4)

This committee maintains communication with faculty and staff across the AC community (generally through periodic correspondence with department heads) and sends notes/cards on behalf of the Senate to personnel for accomplishments and/or illness/personal loss.

Kim Pinter, Chair
Walt Webb
JR Gonzales                  

Elections Committee (3-4)

This committee conducts elections for Senate members and other faculty elections as needed each year.

Robert Johnson, Chair
Dave Van Domelen
Simone Buys

Legislative Committee (3-4)

This committee updates faculty on current legislative/faculty issues, as well as on local developments, including the Board of Regent elections, etc.

Dave Van Domelen, Chair
Walt Webb
Brant Davis

Mead Award Committee (3-4)

This committee helps determine the criteria for the John F. Mead Faculty Excellence Award, and members serve on the selection committee for the award.

Amanda-Lester Chisum, Chair
Tammy Holmes
Camille Nies

Professor Emeritus Award Committee (3-4)

Senate Vice President / President-elect chairs this committee.  This committee makes recommendations to the Faculty Senate for retired faculty to be named Professor Emeritus, plans and conducts the public reception, and arranges for all publicity for the Professor Emeritus honoree.

Robin Malone, Chair
Don Abel
Tammy Holmes                         Nathan Fryml

Questions Committee (3-4)

This committee accepts questions and concerns from faculty members, reviews those questions, and presents the questions/concerns to the Faculty Senate for further action.

Inactive until neededSalary CommitteeSenate Vice President / President-elect chairs this committee.  This committee makes recommendations to the Faculty Senate regarding faculty salaries and other related areas.  The committee will make a Salary Proposal recommendation to the College President prior to the budgeting process in February.
Nathan Fryml, Chair
Kati Alley

Technology Committee (2-3)

This committee maintains the Senate website and reviews technology updates/changes and issues.

Robert Johnson, Chair
Kim Pinter
Don Abel
Simone Buys

Faculty Survey Committee (4-5)

This committee conducts the annual spring survey of College faculty. Committee members work closely with the Institutional Research department to verify survey results, and the committee presents those results (separately) to the Vice President of Academic Affairs and to the College President.

Fiona Denge, Chair
Kati Alley
Sarah Uselding

Hospitality Committee (3-4)

This committee provides refreshments for Senate meetings utilizing a small budget designated for this purpose.

Karen White

*Faculty Development Committee

The Senate Vice President / President-elect serves as a faculty representative to the Faculty Development Committee.

Karen White
(Amanda Lester-Chisum, 1st Alt.)
(Nathan Fryml, 2nd Alt.)

*Instructional Technology Council


The Senate President serves as one of five faculty representatives (2 instructional, 1 dept. chair, 1 division chair, Faculty Senate president) on the policy-making Information Technology Council.  Vice President / President-elect is 1st alternate.  Secretary is 2nd alternate.  

Sarah Uselding, Chair
Amanda Lester-Chisum
Bill Netherton
Brant Davis

Faculty Committee Appointments (3-4)

This committee sends out a survey in the spring to all faculty to collect interest in serving on campus committees the following school year.  The committee then consolidates faculty requests and the Senate makes recommendations to the VPAA for faculty representatives on campus committees.

Karen White                              Amanda Lester Chisum

*No Excuses Core Team

Faculty Senate Officers serve as Faculty representatives on the policy-making No Excuses Core Team.

All SenatorsProfessional Standards and Relations CommitteeAs the Professional Standards and Relations Committee, the Faculty Senate shall review faculty grievances upon recommendation by the Vice President of Academic Affairs and make recommendations according to procedures outlined in the Faculty Senate bylaws.