2021-2022 Membership



Don Abel, Mass Media/Speech  ddabel@actx.edu

Vice-President / President-Elect

Dr. Nathaniel Fryml, Music n0582382@actx.edu


Rene`e Stovall;  Business Management  trstovall21@actx.edu


Simone Buys, Occupational Therapy s0565926@actx.edu 


Jessica M. Mitchell;  Math Sciences and Engineering. j0353042@actx.edu

Robert S. Dillon;  Biological Sciences  r0280022@actx.edu

Nathaniel J. Fryml; Music ( Vice President) n0582382@actx.edu

Brent Childers;  Industrial Technology w0153488@actx.edu

Donna K. Cleere:  Dental Hygiene dkcleere@actx.edu

Aaron Gann, Health Sciences, Nursing  a0484825@actx.edu


LaVon Barrett, LVN  albarrett@actx.edu 

Brant Davis, Mortuary Science b0267208@actx.edu

Fiona Denge, Biology (Moore)  f0538067@actx.edu

Bernardino (JR) Gonzales  bgonzales@actx.edu

Bob Gustin, Biology  rlgustin@actx.edu

Constance (Connie) Haskins, Criminal Justice c0144570@actx.edu

Sabera Muna, Math s0590361@actx.edu

Ray Newburg, Theatre arnewburg@actx.edu

Camille Nies, Music cdnies@actx.edu

Faculty Senate 2021/2022


Committee Name




Courtesy Committee

Fiona Denge,  Chair

This committee maintains communication with faculty and  staff across the AC community. The committee sends  notes/cards on behalf of the Senate to personnel of accomplishments or illness/personal loss.


Aaron Gann


Robert Dillon



Elections Committee

Sabera Muna, Chair

This committee conducts elections for Senate members and  other faculty elections as needed each year.


JR Gonzales


Jessica Mitchell



Legislative Committee

Bob Gustin, Chair

This committee updates faculty on current legislative/faculty  issues, as well as on local developments, including the Board  of Regents, elections, etc.


Simone Buys


LaVon Barrett



Mead Award Committee

Brant Davis, Chair

This committee helps determine the criteria for the John F.  Mead Faculty Excellence Award, and members serve on the  selection committee for the award


Connie Haskins


Donna Cleere



Professor Emeritus Award Committee

Nathan Fryml, Chair

Senate Vice President chairs this committee. This committee  makes recommendations to the Faculty Senate for retired  faculty to be named Professor Emeritus, plans and conducts  the public reception, and arranges for all publicity for the  honoree.


Ray Newburg


Robert Dillon



Questions Committee

Ray Newburg, Chair

This committee accepts questions and concerns from faculty  members, reviews those questions, and presents the  questions/concerns to the Faculty Senate for further action.


JR Gonzales


Renee Stovall


Brent Childers



Technology Committee

Connie Haskins, Chair

This committee maintains the Senate website and reviews  technology updates /changes and issues.


Bob Gustin


Brent Childers



Faculty Survey Committee

Lavonne Barrett, Chair

This committee conducts the annual spring survey of College  faculty. Committee members work closely with the  Institutional Research department to verify survey results,  and the committee presents those results (separately) to the  Vice President of Academic Affairs and the College  President.


Simone Buys


Donna Cleere



Hospitality Committee

Camille Nies, Chair

This committee provides refreshments for Senate meetings  utilizing a small budget designated for this purpose.


Sabera Muna


Jessica Mitchell



Faculty Committee Appointments

Nathan Fryml, Chair

This committee sends out a survey in the spring to all faculty  to collect interest in serving on campus committees the  following school year. The committee then consolidates  faculty requests, and the Senate makes recommendations to  the VPAA for faculty representatives on campus committees.


Brant Davis


Aaron Gann



Professional Standard & Relations Committee

All Senators

As the Professional Standards and Relations Committee, the  Faculty Senate shall review faculty grievances upon  recommendation by the Vice President of Academic Affairs  and make recommendations according to the procedures  outlined in the Faculty Senate bylaws.



No Excuses Core Team

Don Abel

Faculty Senate officers serve as Faculty representatives on  the policy-making No Excuses Core Team.



Faculty Development Committee

Don Abel

The Senate VP/President-elect serves as a faculty  representative to the Faculty Development Committee.



Instructional Development Committee

Don Abel

The Senate President serves as one of five faculty  representatives (2 instructional, 1 dept. chair, 1 division  chair, Faculty Senate president) on the policy-making  Instructional Technology Council. VP/President-elect is 1st alternate. Secretary is 2nd alternate.


Nathan Fryml, 1st alternate


Renee Stovall, 2nd alternate



Salary Committee

Chair: Nathan Fryml

Senate Vice President/President-elect chairs this committee.  This committee makes recommendations to the Faculty  Senate regarding faculty salaries and other related areas.  The committee will make a Salary Proposal recommendation  to the College President prior to the budgeting process in  February.