54th Annual Meeting Honoring the Bruckner Family

by Thomas de Jesus
Published April 12, 2018

The 54th annual Amarillo College Foundation meeting was held September 20th at the Amarillo Country Club. The Ben Bruckner Family were the special honorees this year. 

Paul Clark, the Amarillo College Foundation board chairman, opened the meeting, by introducing AC President Russell Lowery-Hart. Lowery-Hart spoke on the many accomplishments of Amarillo College during the past year: the College was a recipient of the Bellwether Award for their No Excuses Poverty Initiative, AC is part of a national study on poverty in higher education led by Dr. Sara Goldrick-Rab of Temple University in Philidelphia, Pa. Amarillo College started eight-week classes and has seen a rise in enrollment from 9,941 to 10,136 for the fall 2017 semester, resulting in a 1% increase. 

Jason Velky gave the 2017-2018 nominating report and thanked the nominating committee for all
of their hard work. He introduced the incoming board members: Nicki Crump, Emily Hall, Whitt Holder, John T. McElyea and Alfonzo Zambrano. Chairman Clark then recognized the 2017-2018 Executive Committee members: Chairman Trevor Caviness; Vice Chairman Dusty Barrick; Secretary Mark Logsdon; Treasurer Steve Smith; Administrative Chairman Laresa Chesley; Fundraising Chairman Lorrain Wilhelm; Finance and Investment Chairman Mike Harris* and AC President Russell Lowery-Hart. The board members rotating off were also recognized for their outstanding service to the board: Michele Agostini, Derek Davis and Ben Whittenburg. 


Bruckner Family 3

Brian and Carol Bruckner, Peggy Bruckner, Randi and Chris Bruckner

IMG 9668

William Ware and Jason Velky

IMG 9674

Paul Clark and Trevor Caviness


The 2017 Amarillo College Honor Roll recipients are the Ben Bruckner family. Introduced were: Peggy Bruckner and sons Brian, with his wife Carol, and Chris, with his wife Randi. Mrs. Patsy Walker, longtime friend of the family made the introductions. The Bruckner family have been staunch supporters of the AC Foundation and Amarillo College for over 40 years. Ben served as a Regent from 1980 until 1998 and on the AC Foundation Board of Directors from 1989 – 1994. Peggy has served on the Adult Students Advisory Board since inception and has remained very active with the Foundation. Brian and Chris have both worked closely with the Foundation. Brian served on the Foundation Board for two terms, from 2005 until 2010. The Bruckner Truck Company has been a major support to the East Campus Technical Program through donations of both equipment and funds. The Bruckner family has established two scholarship funds to assist students in the Industrial Technology Program. They have truly been an integral part of the Foundation in every way. 

Chairman Clark then introduced the incoming 2017 AC Foundation Chairman Trevor Caviness. Chairman Caviness thanked everyone for their attendance and closed the meeting.

*Harris moved to Oklahoma in December. The Finance and Investment Chairman is Paul Clark


IMG 9699

Paul Clark

IMG 9646

Garrett and Wes Condray-Wright
and Roxanne and Kevin Ball

IMG 96171

Alan Rhodes and Dusty Barrick