The Minnie Stevens Piper Outstanding Teaching Faculty Award 

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation honors ten professors in Texas each academic year for outstanding academic, scientific, and scholarly achievement, and for their dedication to the teaching profession. Public senior and community colleges, technical institutes, and private senior and junior colleges in Texas are invited to submit nominations for this prestigious award. Amarillo College participates in the nomination process by submitting the names of two outstanding full-time faculty members each year. The Amarillo College Piper professor nominee is chosen by popular vote in an election conducted by the Faculty Senate. 

The John F. Mead Faculty Excellence Award 

Amarillo College recognizes the integral role of the faculty in accomplishing the goals of the college. As a special means of recognizing outstanding faculty, Amarillo College will present between one to three faculty excellence awards each year at commencement exercises. 

Faculty, students, board members, administrators, and/or alumnae may nominate a faculty for the excellence award. The nominations must be submitted to the President's office by the designated date. 

Each recipient will receive a plaque and a monetary award. 

Approved: August 20, 1991