2020 - 2021

Faculty Senate

Membership and committee lists from the 2020-2021 Academic Year.


Amanda Lester Chisum (Health Sciences) President, ajlester21@actx.edu 
Don Abel (Liberal Arts) Vice President/President-Elect, ddabel@actx.edu 
Robin Malone (STEM) Secretary, r0114502@actx.edu 
Simone Buys (Health Sciences) Parliamentarian, s0565926@actx.edu


LaVon Barrett (Nursing), albarrett@actx.edu  
Brant Davis (Health Sciences), b0267208@actx.edu 
Fiona Denge (STEM), f0538067@actx.edu 
Bernardino (JR.) Gonzales (STEM), bgonzales@actx.edu 
Bob Gustin (Manufacturing), rlgustin@actx.edu 
Connie Haskins (Tech-Ed), c0144570@actx.edu 
Janie Lane (Nursing), jbgillett@actx.edu 
Sabera Muna (Mathematics), s0590361@actx.edu 
Bill Netherton (Liberal Arts), wdnetherton@actx.edu  
Ray Newburg (Liberal Arts), arnewburg@actx.edu 
Camille Nies (Liberal Arts), cdnies@actx.edu 
Dave Van Domelen (STEM), d0540371@actx.edu 
Walter Webb (Technical Education), walter.webb@actx.edu 

Faculty Senate Committee Assignments


Courtesy Committee

  • Fiona Denge, Chair
  • Walt Webb
  • Janie Lane
Former Chair: Bill Netherton
This committee maintains communication with faculty and staff across the AC community. The committee sends notes/cards on behalf of the Senate to personnel of accomplishments or illness/personal loss.

Elections Committee

  • JR Gonzales, Chair
  • Walt Webb
  • Sabera Muna
Former Chair: Kim Pinter
This committee conducts elections for Senate members and other faculty elections as needed each year.

Legislative Committee

  • Simone Buys, Chair
  • LaVon Barrett
  • Bob Gustin
Former Chair: Robert Johnson
This committee updates faculty on current legislative/faculty issues, as well as on local developments, including the Board of Regents, elections, etc.

Mead Award Committee

  • Walt Webb, Chair
  • Brant Davis
  • Connie Haskins
Former Chair: Dave Van Domelen
This committee helps determine the criteria for the John F. Mead Faculty Excellence Award, and members serve on the selection committee for the award.

Professor Emeritus Award Committee

  • Don Abel, Chair
  • Camille Nies
  • Bill Netherton
Former Chair: Amanda Lester Chisum
Senate Vice President chairs this committee. This committee makes recommendations to the Faculty Senate for retired faculty to be named Professor Emeritus, plans and conducts the public reception, and arranges for all publicity for the honoree.

Questions Committee

  • Robin Malone, Chair
  • Don Abel
  • JR Gonzales
  • Ray Newburg
Former Chair: Robin Malone
This committee accepts questions and concerns from faculty members, reviews those questions, and presents the questions/concerns to the Faculty Senate for further action.

Technology Committee

  • Dave Van Domelen, Chair
  • Connie Haskins
  • Bob Gustin
Former Chair: Nathan Fryml
This committee maintains the Senate website and reviews technology updates /changes and issues.

Faculty Survey Committee

  • Simone Buys, Chair
  • Lavonne Barrett
  • Ray Newburg
  • Dave Van Domelen
Former Chair: Robert Johnson
This committee conducts the annual spring survey of College faculty. Committee members work closely with the Institutional Research department to verify survey results, and the committee presents those results (separately) to the Vice President of Academic Affairs and the College President.

Hospitality Committee

  • Camille Nies, Chair
  • Sabera Muna
  • Connie Haskins
Former Chair: Fiona Dengo
This committee provides refreshments for Senate meetings utilizing a small budget designated for this purpose.

Faculty Committee Appointments

  • Bill Netherton, Chair
  • Brant Davis
  • Janie Lane
Former Chair: Sarah Uselding
This committee sends out a survey in the spring to all faculty to collect interest in serving on campus committees the following school year. The committee then consolidates faculty requests, and the Senate makes recommendations to the VPAA for faculty representatives on campus committees.

Professional Standard and Relations Committee

  • All Senators
‌As the Professional Standards and Relations Committee, the Faculty Senate shall review faculty grievances upon recommendation by the Vice President of Academic Affairs and make recommendations according to the procedures
outlined in the Faculty Senate bylaws.

No Excuses Core Team

‌Amanda Lester Chisum

Former Chair: Karen White

‌Faculty Senate officers serve as Faculty representatives on the policy-making No Excuses Core Team.

Faculty Development Committee

Amanda Lester Chisum

Former Chair: Karen White

‌The Senate VP/President-elect serves as a faculty representative to the Faculty Development Committee.

Instructional Development Committee

‌Amanda Lester Chisum
(Don Abel 1st Alternate, Robin Malone 2nd Alternate)

Former Chari: Karen White

‌The Senate President serves as one of five faculty representatives (2 instructional, 1 dept. chair, 1 division chair, Faculty Senate president) on the policy-making Instructional Technology Council. VP/President-elect is 1st alternate. Secretary is 2nd alternate.

Salary Committee

‌Inactive until needed ‌Senate Vice President/President-elect chairs this committee. This committee makes recommendations to the Faculty Senate regarding faculty salaries and other related areas. The committee will make a Salary Proposal recommendation to the College President prior to the budgeting process in February.