|I think I may have a hold on my license due to unpaid fines, can I still get a CDL?|
No. All fines, holds and suspensions on your driver license must be cleared through the Department of Public Safety.
Check Driving Eligibility here: Texas Department of Public Safety
|Is financial aid available?|
Amarillo College Financial Aid Office: $$$$ and Workforce Solutions 806-345-1340.
If you are a military veteran there is financial aid available! Call Kelly Murphy at 806-371-5026.
|I am unemployed or under-employed. Can I get financial aid?|
|Download contact information Call Workforce Solutions to find out if you qualify 806-345-1340.|
|How long is the class?|
The day class is 8 weeks, 7:30 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Thursday.
The night class is 16 weeks, 5:15 pm to 10:00 pm Monday through Thursday.
Total class hours: 336
|What supplies or books will I need for the class?|
You will need to budget about $329.00 to cover these required items:
Each student must have a Department of Transportation (DOT) physical exam and drug screen. Each student must also apply for Class A Learner Permit (CLP) at the Texas Department of Public Safety office (the office where a person gets drivers licenses). These three documents; DOT physical, drug screen and CDL permit application receipt must be presented the first day of class. Failure to obtain these will result in a student being dropped from the class.
|Are any of the classes taught in Spanish?|
No. All classes are taught in English. English language learners may receive assistance.
Contact Matthew Piech 806-371-5918 or Ronetta Urton 806-371-5391 for more information.
|How can I get more information?|
|We are here 8:00 to 5:00 Monday through Friday. Give us a call at 806-335-4370. Email email@example.com|
|How do I sign up for classes?|
|Registration is available at Amarillo College Washington Street Campus, Amarillo College East Campus, Amarillo College Dumas and Amarillo College Hereford.|
|I heard that you offer CDL training for deaf students, how does that work?|
|Yes, we have excellent success training deaf drivers. To begin, the student must first obtain a waiver from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration - Hearing Exemption. This can take 4-6 months, call or email us for more details. We have a packet of materials to get you on the road to success.|